Just For Laughs Announces the Recipients of the 2019 Just For Laughs Awards

Just For Laughs Announces the Recipients of the 2019 Just For Laughs Awards

The Generation Award to be presented to Kevin Hart

Jimmy Carr to present the award of Stand-up Comedian of the Year to Jim Jefferies

Trevor Noah to present the award of Breakout Comedy Star of the Year to Hasan Minhaj

Chris Redd to present the award of Rising Comedy Star of the Year to Amanda Seales

Jason Mantzoukas to present the award of Comedy Writers of the Year to Nick Kroll, Andrew Goldberg, Mark Levin & Jennifer Flackett for “Big Mouth”

Montréal, July 15, 2019 – Just For Laughs, in association with Loto-Québec, is thrilled to announce the 2019 recipients of the Just For Laughs Awards, putting the spotlight on some of today’s most influential comedic voices. The 12th edition of the highly-anticipated show is set to take place on Friday, July 26, 2019 at 3:00pm in the Grand Salon Opera at the DoubleTree by Hilton Montreal.

This year’s recipients are Kevin Hart (Generation Award), Jim Jefferies (Stand-up Comedian of the Year), Hasan Minhaj (Breakout Comedy Star of the Year), Amanda Seales (Rising Comedy Star of the Year), Nick Kroll, Andrew Goldberg, Mark Levin and Jennifer Flackett for Netflix’ Big Mouth (Comedy Writers of the Year).

The 2019 Just For Laughs Awards Show will be hosted by none other than JFL-veteran and fan-favourite, Alonzo Bodden. Introduced to the world on NBC’s Last Comic Standing, Alonzo Bodden was runner up on season 2 and came back to win it all on Last Comic Standing Season 3’s The Best of the Best. Bodden released his second stand-up comedy special in 2016, Historically Incorrect and can be seen in a number of TV’s top comedy shows including ABC’s Fresh Off the Boat and Showtime’s Californication.

Generation Award: Kevin Hart

Stand-up comedian, actor, and producer, Kevin Hart shot to fame after his first appearance at the Montreal Just For Laughs Festival, making a name for himself as one of the foremost comedians, entertainers, authors, and businessmen in the industry today. With an extensive list of film credits to his name, he has not only lent his voice to The Secret Life of Pets 2 and Captain Underpants: The First Epic Movie, but has also appeared in The Upside, Central Intelligence, Ride Along 2, Get Hard, to name but a few. In 2019 Hart wrapped up his highly successful, global live standup comedy tour, The Irresponsible Tour, which is now available to stream on Netflix. Kevin is currently in production working on his new film Fatherhood, based on the best-selling book “Two Kisses for Maddy,” which he both produced and stars in. You can also catch Kevin in the upcoming film Jumanji: The Next Level alongside Dwayne Johnson, Jack Black, Danny DeVito, Karen Gillian, and Awkwafina, set to hit theatres at the end of this year. The Generation Award is reserved for recognizing unparalleled contributions to the world of comedy by artists whose work paves the way for a new generation of comedians. Kevin’s impact on the comedy industry, as a stand-up comedian, actor, producer continues to demonstrate why he is one of the most relevant and influential artists of our generation.

Presenter to be announced shortly.

Stand-Up Comedian of the Year: Jim Jefferies

Australian stand-up comedian, political commentator, actor and writer, Jim Jefferies is most widely recognized as the creator and star of FX’s Legit, and host of Comedy Central’s hit late-night comedy series, The Jim Jefferies Show. Named one of the top 5 touring comedians in the world, Jefferies has three critically-acclaimed Netflix specials under his belt, including his most recent hour This is Me Now.

This award will be presented to Jim Jefferies by the unbelievably witty, Jimmy Carr, whose established comedy career spans a decade and a half. As the first UK-based comedian to record a special for Netflix, Carr’s additional television credits include 20 seasons as host of the panel show 8 Out Of 10 Cats, 16 seasons of spin-off 8 Out Of 10 Cats Does Countdown and 10 years presenting Channel 4’s Big Fat Quiz Of The Year. He has also hosted three seasons of Roast Battle on Comedy Central,

Breakout Comedy Star of the Year: Hasan Minhaj

Comedian, writer, producer, actor, political commentator and television host, Hasan Minhaj rose to fame after starring on Comedy Central’s The Daily Show with Trevor Noah. He was selected as a  New Face in 2014 by JFL, then went on to make his mark on the comedy industry after he delivered a smash speech at the 2017 White House Correspondents Dinner. This past year, Minhaj has absolutely exploded on the comedy scene, hosting his own talk show, Netflix’s Patriot Act with Hasan Minhaj.

This award will be presented to Hasan Minhaj by comedic powerhouse and lauded political commentator, Trevor Noah. The South-African born comedian is celebrated around the world for his insightful and authentic take on politics and current events, often sharing incisive social and political commentary as host on Comedy Central’s The Daily Show.

Rising Comedy Star of the Year: Amanda Seales

Comedian, actress, writer and producer, Amanda Seales is a former MTV VJ with a master’s in African American studies from Columbia University. She is a series regular on HBO’s Insecure, has guest starred on ABC’s black-ish, and has performed stand up on NBC’s Late Night with Seth Meyers. She has written, produced and starred in two seasons of her scripted comedy, Get Your Life, that went viral after articulately and passionately confronting Caitlyn Jenner on issues of race and equality in America, during a live-streamed dinner, hosted by Katy Perry, on YouTube. Catch her this summer as the host of NBC’s new recording-breaking competition show, Bring The Funny.

This award will be presented to Amanda Seales by NBC’s Saturday Night Live star Chris Redd. The Emmy-award winning comic was selected as a New Face in 2015 by JFL. He now can be seen in several comedy films including The House opposite Will Ferrell and Amy Poehler, and A Futile and Stupid Gesture starring Will Forte.  Redd starred in the cult-classic TV show, Wet Hot American Summer and in 2017, was featured on Comedy Central Stand-Up Presents and Netflix’s Love.

Comedy Writers of the Year:

Netflix’ Big Mouth is the edgy adult animated comedy series that is based off creators Nick Kroll and Andrew Goldberg’s real-life friendship, and the glorious nightmare that is teenage puberty. Heading into its third season, Big Mouth features the voices of comedy superstars including Nick Kroll, John Mulaney, Jenny Slate, and Fred Armisen, written by Nick Kroll, Andrew Goldberg, Mark Levin and Jennifer Flackett.

This award will be presented to the writers of Netflix’s Big Mouth by actor Jason Mantzoukas. With countless acting credits to his name, including The House, The Dictator, How To Be Single, Sleeping With Other People, Neighbours, and the latest John Wick 3, Mantzoukas is best known for his roles on FXX’s The League, Netflix’s Big Mouth, NBC’s Brooklyn Nine-Nine and The Good Place. Mantzoukas co-wrote Adult Swim’s Mr. Neighbor’s House and Universal’s Ride Along starring Kevin Hart and Ice Cube.

Just For Laughs ComedyPRO takes place July 24 – 27, 2019 at the DoubleTree by Hilton.

Industry passes are now on sale at https://comedypro.hahaha.com/pass

Limited tickets are now on sale. Use this link to get your tickets now!